Top navigation

Audio Pro Award winners announced

Andrew Low
Audio Pro Award winners announced

A judging panel of over 100 industry experts and executives, including some of the most respected figures in the business, have cast their votes and Audio Pro International can now reveal the winners of its 2009 Industry Excellence Awards:

Live & Installed Sound
Best Live Sound Event
Clair for U2 360° tour 

Most Innovative Installation
Delta Sound for The Atrium, Westfield 

Best New Live Sound Product
Digico for SD8

Article continues below


Best New Installation Product
Lab.gruppen for C 88:4

Best Live Sound Engineer
Gary Bradshaw

Best After-Sales Support
Midas Consoles

Best New Company
Red Square Audio

Studio & Broadcast Sound

Best New Studio Product
Avid Digidesign for Pro Tools 8

Best Studio Engineer
Haydn Bendall

Best Broadcast Sound
CTV Outside Broadcasts for Brit Awards 2009

Best New Studio
Black Rock Studios

Most Original Studio Initiative
Metropolis Group

Best After-Sales Support

Best New Company
Rupert Neve Designs

Lifetime Achievement Award
Peter Gabriel

The 2009 Industry Excellence Awards was a virtual ceremony and, in place of a formal event, each stage of the process was covered through the pages of Audio Pro and online.

The awards were subject to a transparent, voluntary  voting procedure. After consultation with the industry, the Audio Pro International team picked five finalists per category; industry-wide voting then decided the 15 worthy winners.

Winners include U2’s monumental 360° tour handled by Clair, which scooped Best Live Sound Event.

The award for Best Live Sound Engineer went to Gary Bradshaw for his work on the recent Take That tour, as well as his historic skills at FOH with Depeche Mode and Pink Floyd.

Other big winners in the Live & Installed Sound category include Digico, which took the gong for Best New Live Sound Product with its ground breaking SD8, and Red Square Audio which proved to be the industry’s favourite new live sound company by some distance.

In the Studio & Broadcast Sound category, Avid Digidesign stormed away with Best New Studio Product for its industry-leading DAW Pro Tools 8, while Best New Company went to Rupert Neve Designs, which has spent its formative years developing a coveted line of gear that combines modern and classic designs.
An Abbey Road engineer of 17 years, Haydn Bendall was the clear winner of Best Studio Engineer after his peers came out in force to vote for him.

It was perhaps the Lifetime Achievement Award that was the most anticipated of all and it gave us great pleasure to be able to present this to the legendary musician, songwriter and engineer Peter Gabriel, whose positive influence throughout the industry has proven unrivalled.

Gabriel is known for his work with Genesis in the band’s early days, as well as hugely successful records under his own name, his involvement with Solid State Logic and Real World Studios and the pioneering of digital distribution methods for music.

Audio Pro International’s editor, Andrew Low, commented: “It has been really fantastic to see the enthusiasm generated by the first Audio Pro Industry Excellence Awards. Our aim from the outset was to provide a true representation of our industry’s opinions and achievements and I think we’ve succeeded. Many thanks to all our readers for their submissions, to our judges for their votes and the heartiest of congratulations to all the winners”

Tags: audio pro industry excellence awards winners

Follow us on

  • RSS