Top navigation

CEDAR Audio to be inducted into the Audio TECnology Hall Of Fame

CEDAR Audio to be inducted into the Audio TECnology Hall Of Fame
On 4 October 2008 at the Moscone Centre in San Francisco, the CEDAR System - alongside fourteen other products - will be inducted into the Audio TECnology Hall Of Fame.

A panel of more than fifty recognised audio experts, including authors, educators, engineers, facility owners and other industry professionals selected the inductees who, in previous years, have included innovators including Leon Termin, Rupert Neve and Bob Moog alongside breakthroughs such as the cylinder phonograph, the triode vacuum tube, the Soundstream digital recorder, the Fairlight CMI and MIDI.

The induction ceremony will take place on Saturday 4 October 2008 during the 125th AES Convention, and will be open to all Convention attendees.

CEDAR's Managing Director, Gordon Reid, who will be receiving the award says, "When George Petersen, Director of the Hall Of Fame, called me to say that the CEDAR System was to be inducted, I was almost speechless. There is something special about being recognised by one's peers and the industry as a whole, especially when one is unaware of being considered for the honour.

"I am very grateful to the people involved, whoever they are, and would like to thank them here as well as in San Francisco in October."

Article continues below


"I would also like to thank those engineers and visionaries who contributed to the existence and early development of the system - Dr Christopher Roads of the British Library National Sound Archive, Emeritus Professor Peter Rayner and Professor Simon Godsill of the Cambridge University Engineering Department, our own Dave Betts, and former employee Keith Miller, all of whom contributed greatly to what CEDAR was to become."

The Hall Of Fame was established in 2004 by the Mix Foundation to honour significant, lasting contributions to the advancement of audio technology.

Tags: aes, cedar audio, san francisco, tecnology hall of fame

Follow us on

  • RSS